SGA to create focus committees after receiving results from student vote

The Student Government Association has created new committees that focus on different areas around campus in hopes to provide better services to students.

SGA already has two committees such as the S.O.L.O. committee and the community service committee. Seven new committees were formed from the top 10 focus areas on campus that were voted on by students. The newly added committees include: Buildings and Grounds, Parking and Renovations, Campus Dining and Volpe library, TTU spirit, Campus Safety, Student Affairs and Communications and Residential Life.

“The purpose of the committees is to allow student government senators to focus their bill writing on topics that students are most concerned about,” said Bobby Adams, student government president. “That way SGA is being active in the areas that matter most to those we serve, the students.”

“I think that giving students the power of voting on new committees that we felt were the most important was a great idea,” said Whitney Robertson, a junior who lives in the residence halls. “Once bills begin to pass that make our campus better, students will feel more like their voices are being heard. I’m looking forward to seeing what they will accomplish.”

SGA Freshman Senator Elizabeth Webb is most interested in the parking committee.

“I feel that parking spots are one thing that Tech lacks,” said Webb. “I’m excited to get to plan the first parking garage on campus.”

SGA hopes that these committees will allow the senators to write bills that will increase the positive aspects of student life on campus and everyone’s overall experience at Tennessee Tech. Each committee is hoping to accomplish different goals; these goals will be determined at the meeting Tuesday, Feb. 9 at 9 p.m. in the Tech Pride Room.

Students are encouraged to attend SGA meetings Tuesday nights in the Tech Pride Room to voice their opinions and see what the committees are doing. This spring, SGA will have business meetings only twice a month, while the other two meetings with be focused on creating bills for the new focus areas.